Forever Books 1980 – 2016 (1 of 2)

Depending on your age and genre of choice hopefully of you will have heard of and maybe even read some of my best ever books – or you may pick one to read. It has been really difficult trying to work out how many I should include on this list as I have read soo many books in the 30 years or so that I have been a compulsive reader and they are not added in any order as that would be impossible.

 

My Forever Books. (Short Intro to book following by my personal thoughts)

 

Not Without My Daughter – Betty Mahmoody

You are here for the rest of your life. Do you understand? You are not leaving Iran. You are here until you die.   A mothers devotion to her child is all consuming and I read this just before becoming a mother myself and I too would go to the ends of the earth and back again for my child and I think this book portrays this instinct perfectly. Gritty and powerful.

 

Perfect People by Peter James

They should have realized that something was wrong when they saw the list. Choices of eye colour, hair, sporting abilities. They can literally design their child. Now it’s too late to turn back. Naomi is pregnant, and already something is badly wrong . .The plot of this book was so different and so masterfully written by Peter James that whilst I did not agree with the ethics at all, I was fascinated by the idea of it. 

 

Last Tenko by Michael Hardwick

1945. The American Air Force bombs Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Japan immediately surrenders, and years of abject suffering and humiliation end for a group of women prisoners in a Japanese Camp. Read this in my teens and it opened my eyes to a piece of history that I had previously not focused on before .  Watered down for tv adaptation but powerful never the less.

 

Into The Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

Lee seems almost too perfect to be true. But there is a dark side to him and his erratic, controlling and sometimes frightening behaviour means that Catherine is increasingly isolated. Driven into the darkest corner of her world, she plans a meticulous escape. Four years later, struggling to overcome her demons, Catherine dares to believe she might be safe from harm. Until one phone call changes everything.  1st in the genre that sparked my interest and what a book to start with scary, fast paced and just impossible to put down this is possibly the book I have recommended the most. An outstanding thriller by a very talented writer.

 

So Low, So High – Pete Sortwell

Simon Brewster is a doomed man. If he doesn’t change his ways, he’ll never see middle, let alone old age. He knows that most people generally don’t drink white cider for breakfast, don’t use the aisle of Tesco as a toilet and don’t steal from their family and friends. At School the careers adviser never suggested stealing Edam balls and legs of lamb as a job and his doctor has never prescribed crack cocaine or heroin. Unbelievably this book is actually a work of fiction but I forgot this while I was reading. It is raw and full of a realism that is hard to describe, made me laugh and cry in equal measure but also taught me alot and helped me better understand addiction.

 

600 Hundred Hours of Edward – Craig Lancaster

A thirty-nine-year-old with Asperger’s syndrome and obsessive-compulsive disorder, Edward Stanton lives alone on a rigid schedule in the Montana town where he grew up. His carefully constructed routine includes tracking his most common waking time Without a doubt my most loved character ever, Edward has real warmth, kindness and humour about him and his personality makes him just that a personality. Beyond brilliant. 

Glad you made to the end of Part 1 of My Forever Books, compiling Part 2 now. Please feel free to comment or tell me any of the books that will stay with you forever.

Leave a Reply

