The Best Gift My Mother Gave Me!

Today would have been the birthday of my much adored Mother – the woman who instilled the love of reading into me, partly because she was a great believer that children should neither be seen nor heard and I was frequently dispatched to my room with Enid Blyton for company and also because she was a great reader herself and was rarely without a book in her hand.

Like me she dealt with all the seemingly never ending runs of bad husbands, bad jobs and the general crappy hand that life flung her way by disappearing into a bestseller and then proceeding to ignore said bad husband (this is also a skill I have learnt to perfect)

So from myself and your long suffering granddaugher, who by the way refuses point blank to read the required 125 books per year despite my best attempts, we send you love and thanks for all your input into our lives and truly hope that Heaven has a library for you. xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

