6* Book..Review: Bloq by Alan Jones

bloq

A gritty crime thriller. Glasgow man Bill Ingram waits in the city’s Central Station to meet his daughter, returning home from London for Christmas. When the last train pulls in, and she doesn’t get off it, he makes a desperate overnight dash to find out why. His search for her takes over his life, costing him his job and, as he withdraws from home, family and friends, he finds himself alone, despairing of ever seeing her again.

My Thoughts

This is another previously unknown author to me but I had seen people talking about it on TBConFB and then again on Twitter, so I followed the author and was duly rewarded with an ARC of Bloq. It quickly becomes clear that this is written by an author who loves being an author! and I was hooked.

I instantly connected with Bill and felt my heart going out to him early on, for a number of reasons that I won’t disclose for fear of spoilers but the emotions were raw and very real in my eyes. The story moves along at a cracking pace and I was soon immersed in the shady world of Bloq (the club that is pivotal to the storyline) with its dubious owner Aleksander whom I detested immediately.

As Bill’s search widens so did my interest and I found the chapters racing by and everything was on hold until I had finished this well thought out, well executed book that has the perfect blend of emotions, tension and drama and it is a book that I urge lovers of the genre to read.

I shall without a doubt be reading Alan’s previous books The Cabinetmaker and also the highly recommended Blue Wicked.

Thanks so much for the ARC Alan, very glad I followed you. Good luck with the release date of 1st April 2016.

PS. Opening lines are equal to Viral by Helen Fitzgerald.

5 sheep rating

 

4 thoughts on “6* Book..Review: Bloq by Alan Jones

Leave a Reply

