2 from Orenda Books (1 an addition to ATF list)

Finally got a chance to read 2 of the books I been looking forward to for awhile from Orenda Books and I was hoping to make 3 in a row with How To Be Brave by Louise Beech but my TBR list had other ideas. So I started with Epiphany Jones and finished with In Her Wake and whilst both get a 5 sheep rating only one now has a place in my All Time Favourite list – read on to find out which one!!

Jerry has a traumatic past that leaves him subject to psychotic hallucinations and depressive episodes. When he stands accused of stealing a priceless Van Gogh painting, he goes underground, where he develops an unwilling relationship with a woman who believes that the voices she hears are from God. Involuntarily entangled in the illicit world of sex-trafficking amongst the Hollywood elite, and on a mission to find redemption for a haunting series of events from the past, Jerry is thrust into a genuinely shocking and outrageously funny quest to uncover the truth and atone for historical sins.

My Thoughts

This was an extraordinary read, harsh and I suspect true to life in places and it highlights just how truly awful some people can be given the chance, and the depths to which the celebrity culture has sunk too and how they abuse the power and status they have. 

It is highly imaginatively written and I would highly recommend this for fans for a thriller that is not your average thriller.

And the cover is superb too!

5 sheep rating

Next on my Orenda book list was In Her Wake by Amanda Jennings

 

 

ihw

A perfect life … until she discovered it wasn’t her own… A tragic family event reveals devastating news that rips apart Bella’s comfortable existence. Embarking on a personal journey to uncover the truth, she faces a series of traumatic discoveries that take her to the ruggedly beautiful Cornish coast, where hidden truths, past betrayals and a 25-year-old mystery threaten not just her identity, but also her life. Chilling, complex and profoundly moving, In Her Wake is a gripping psychological thriller that questions the nature of family – and reminds us that sometimes the most shocking crimes are committed closest to home.
My Thoughts
Normally I write my review straight after reading but I truly needed time to think after I finished this but my 1st thoughts were WOW and WOW again!

It has so much going on but without confusion and I did not lose track at any point, the story unravels effortlessly and at the right pace.
There was not one character I could not connect with on some level such is the talent of the author and even the villains of the piece had my sympathy in places.

It is an incredibly good read, unbelievably good in fact and has earned a place on my all time favourite books list.
 
                        5 sheep rating
Huge thanks to Karen from Orenda Books for sending me these and also How To Be Brave and Jihadi both of which I will be reading as soon as I can xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

