Guest Post: Cay Rademacher (CWA nominated author of The Murderer in Ruins) @ArcadiaBooks

As some of you may have noticed I am varying my reading choices recently, whilst I still enjoy crime novels and will continue to do so, my reading horizons are broadening once more and I am finding lots of new authors on a variety of topics. And The Wolf Children by the author of today’s guest post is one that I shall be reading for sure

About The Wolf Children

Set in Hamburg in the summer of 1947 – the city is rebuilding following the devastation of war, but tensions between the Germans and British are high. When the body of a fourteen year old boy is discovered in a disused shipyard, Chief Inspector Frank Stave is confronted with a new mystery. The Wolf Children is the gripping, disturbing and emotional story of children orphaned by the Second World War as it swept through Eastern Europe.

The Wolf Children jacket

Cay Rademacher talks about the writing of The Wolf Children

At the end the real crimes are always the most horrible ones… I am a Journalist for GEO magazine in Germany and had, a couple of years ago, to write an article about the harsh daily life in ruined, British-occupied Hamburg just after the Second World War. I thought it would be a good idea to do some research with the criminal police because their officers would, following leads to any crime, investigate into all sectors of the city and all strata of the society – which I, in turn, could then describe quite vividly.

By pure chance I stumbled during my research on the unsolved murder-case of the ‘Trümmermörder’. This case never let me go – until I wrote a book on it: The Murderer in Ruins.

This, as it turned out, was the beginning of a trilogy, in which The Wolf Children now is number two. ‘Wolf children’ were, in the jargon of the times, the children of German refugees from the East, who somehow lost their parents and their entire families. They ended up as orphans in the cities of Post-War-Germany, some of them so young that they could not even remember their proper names. They formed gangs in the ruins, trying to survive by all means. It is in this very strange and sad world, that Inspector Stave plunges in this novel.

For me all three books on Inspector Stave (the third volume will, I hope, be translated soon) are not only historical crime novels. But they are, in a certain way, also documents of a not-so-long-vanished, half-forgotten, very dark period of German and, alas, British history, too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My thanks to Cay for writing this post and I wish him every success with the book.

You can buy The Wolf Children from 15th March 2017

Leave a Reply

