Blog Tour: Guest Post by After The Affair author Jonathan Kaye

After the affair cover

About The Book

“University Lecturer David Ryan is having an affair. And he thinks no-one knows.

He’s wrong. Someone does know. And that someone is out to blackmail him.

But when the blackmail attempt goes wrong, both Ryan and the blackmailer find themselves dragged into an underground (and decidedly seedy) world of secrets, lies and violence. A world where no-one can be trusted and everyone has something to hide.

Set in modern-day Dublin, ‘After the Affair’ is the debut psychological thriller from author Jonathan Kaye.”

My Thoughts

This is quite a read and I am still struggling to register that this is Jonathan’s debut, truly there was there is nothing that I did not like about After The affair. and it deserves to fly high (and hopefully it will)

It has action and a plot that flows so well the pages almost turned themselves.

5 sheep rating

 

Now you have read abit from me, I will hand over to the author of this belter of a book so that he can tell us more about his writing process.

 

In the immortal words of Ziggy Stardust: It Aint Easy

 A friend of mine read The Girl on the Train recently (which I think is a cracking story by the way). I asked her what she thought of it. She said, ‘Yeah, it was good, but y’know, while I was reading it I kept thinking, hey I could write something like that. Can’t be that hard, like, can it?’

I smiled and nodded. Not patronisingly now, of course… well, not overtly in any case. Look, if you knew my friend you’d smile and nod too.

Anyway, her comment got me thinking about how often you hear some people extol their own artistic virtues without ever going on to even attempt to demonstrate those same virtues in any tangible way.

Hers reminded me of the type of comment you might hear on a trip to the Tate Modern: ‘Jeeze, a five year old could do that…’ Or when a pop song comes on the radio: ‘I can’t play an instrument, but even I could come up with something better than that rubbish’… And yet – and this is the important bit – the people who make those comments almost never seem to back them up with action.

I wonder why that is. Perhaps it’s got something to do with the fact that turning one’s self-proclaimed unique and undiscovered creative talent into something real and manifest might actually take more effort than anticipated.

Wasn’t it Hemingway who said, “Writing a book is easy, you just sit at a typewriter and bleed.”

Now I’m certainly not claiming to be in a league with Hemingway – far from it! – but having recently completed my first shot at a novel by putting together a coherent plot, consistent characters and a convincing storyline (all of which claims are eminently debatable!) over the course of a 130,000 word journey, I can now say one thing with absolute and authoritative certainty, and it’s this: Writing – even bad writing – is not easy.

I may not have bled Hemingway-like all over my keyboard, but I did sweat, sigh, swear (a lot), shake my fist, walk away in a huff, delete, correct, think, think and think again, occasionally write, frequently wonder what the hell I was putting myself through and constantly question the quality of the work appearing before my eyes. And that was just the first draft. Let’s not even get into the editing or the proofreading.

Yep, writing – for me at least – is a slow, often tedious slog, punctuated by unnecessarily frequent cups of coffee, bars of chocolate, sandwiches, glasses of wine and aimless wanderings around the kitchen (usually, and unfortunately for my waistline, terminating at the fridge).

So, if it’s that tedious, then why do I do it? I’ll tell you why. Because I like the result. I like what happens when I take a sentence or a paragraph or a chapter and I rip it apart and rebuild it and polish it over and over and over again until I can polish it no more. And then I read it and I think, ‘Hey I did that.’ No-one else can think that. No-one else can claim that work or those words. They’re mine and mine only. They may not be great. They may not even be good. But they’re the best I can do and that makes me happy. That makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something.

Then I pop back to the fridge to celebrate!

*TLDR version. Do I enjoy writing? Not particularly. Do I enjoy ‘having written’? Oh yes, absolutely!

Loved that post, thanks Jonathan and I have learnt a new abbreviation in *TLDR

Should you wish to buy After The Affair – which I recommend you do. You can follow these links.

After The Affair Amazon UK

After The Affair Amazon US

The tour continues with these awesome blogs

JK-TOur (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

