Blog Tour: The Monk of Lantau by Mann Matharu

The stop on the tour today gives us  the inspiration behind The Monk Of Lantau by Mann Matharu – a book about one man’s journey. Through Matthew’s journey, we are given the keys to finding the healer for ourselves. Most importantly, readers are invited to harness the beauty and prosperity that comes when we seek ways to recognize that we are all connected to each other and we are all marvellous and powerful creators of our own unique, stunning life story.

9781504987615_COVER_V9.indd

About the author: Living in London, Mann Matharu is a qualified practitioner of Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP) and a Reiki Master Teacher. Through his work, Mann has helped many people overcome mental, physical and emotional barriers and has been widely recognised by various national and international organisations including an invitation to 10 Downing Street to meet the former Prime Minister, David Cameron in 2016. Currently his philanthropic projects include: Sikhs Online which was launched in 2008 with a view of bringing Sikh news and

historical content into the mainstream media and Homeless 100, a self-funded initiative to provide food for the homeless in London.

 

Website: http://mannmatharu.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MannMatharu

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMannMatharu

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mannmatharu/

 

The Monk of Lantau

The search for a meaningful existence is as universal as it is elusive. When obstacles to happiness and personal goals seem to riddle our horizons, where do we turn for answers?
Meet Matthew, an average Londoner, a family man and a husband, intent on the all-too-normal pursuit of making a better life for himself and his family. When an accident threatens to become the proverbial straw that breaks his back in his pursuit of happiness and personal attainment, Matthew finds himself at a crossroad in his life.


In the way the Universe has of placing the right people in our lives at just the right time, Matthew happens upon a tale from an unlikely source, a tale of a man with mystical healing powers, someone Matthew can seek who can restore balance and harmony to his life and heal his daughter who is fighting for her own. As he traipses through Europe, the Middle East, India and Asia in search of the healer, nothing about the beautiful, trying, and challenging outward journey compares to the progress he makes as he travels into the depths of his own being.

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Monk-Lantau-Mann-Matharu-ebook/dp/B071DNNYBT/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1496311659&sr=1-1&keywords=the+monk+of+lantau

 

Inspiration behind The Monk of Lantau by Mann Matharu

If I were think of one sentence of what inspired me to write The Monk of Lantau, I would have to say it’s that ‘everyone has a journey’. This is stated on the front cover of my book and it’s vital to the underlying message of the story. We don’t always know why one is acting, speaking or behaving in such a way and we do live a society where we judge quickly without looking within.

 

Why does this resonate with me personally? Here’s an insight to my journey, which ultimately led to the inspiration behind The Monk of Lantau.

 

Way back in 2003, I went to Hong Kong for a short break. I needed to get away so just picked the furthest place I wanted to visit. I was always drawn to the far-east.

 

I did not admit this to anyone at the time, not even my doctor, but in 2003 I fell into a deep level depression, but it was not depression how some people would think it to be, I was still able to function and carry on with my day, not very well I may add, but I tried. My depression lasted ten years.

 

Those ten years are now a blur, which is a good thing. But I will say this, deep in my soul I knew I would beat it one day and the reason for this was because I believed that I was destined for big things in my life. I did not know how, what or when, but I knew it would happen one day. This belief kept me going.

 

I put on a brave face for several years, and it was only until one day, a close friend of mine suggested that I should may be attend a meditation class. He had heard of a young woman who lived locally and said he had heard of some interesting results. At first, I was a bit sceptical but thought I should try it out, ‘no harm could come of it’ I said to myself.

 

I made arrangements to meet this teacher and we discussed a few fundamental issues, we did not go into it in too much detail if I’m honest, but she understood and I’m guessing felt the weight of my sadness. She then asked me to try and relax and guided me into a one-to-one meditation with her hands placed on my shoulders. This lasted approximately 20-30 minutes.

 

It’s hard to explain what I felt during this meditation because meditation itself is a very personal experience, but I can say one thing and that is I felt a bright light come inside me, which seemed to have washed away my stress, anxiety, sadness and ultimately my depression. I said in a TV interview recently that I felt my organs and body react, and my God did they react. I felt so alive! I felt a sense of euphoria and have never looked back since.

 

I later learned that it was Reiki healing that the young woman had performed on me, which is a form of alternative healing therapy, which a qualified practitioner can do.

 

I wanted to shout about what had happened, I wanted the whole World to know that no matter what you’re going through, there definitely is a ‘light at the end of the tunnel’ and that you shouldn’t have to wait ‘ten years’ like I did and you can experience it right now!

 

My curiosity for Reiki grew so I studied it, practiced it and now I am a Reiki Master Teacher and it was after my learning of this amazing healing energy and my travels to various parts of the World that I came up with the idea for The Monk of Lantau.

 

The story is told as fiction piece, rather than in a ‘self-help’ format, which combines my own experience and that of others who wish to leave an old part of themselves behind and are looking to embark upon a new purposeful and more balanced path.

Many thanks to Mann for such an interesting post and also Rachel @Authoright for my stop on the tour.

MannMatharu_Banner.jpg

Leave a Reply

