Review: The Last Tudor by Philippa Gregory

pg

About the book

The latest novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory features one of the most famous girls in history, Lady Jane Grey, and her two sisters, each of whom dared to defy her queen.

Jane Grey was queen of England for nine days, dying on the scaffold for her faith. But few people know about her two sisters, cousins to Elizabeth I who also faced imprisonment and death sentences for treason.
Katherine Grey was the beauty of the family who earned the lifelong hatred of her cousin Elizabeth I when she married for love. Mary Grey was an extraordinary little person known as a dwarf in Tudor times, who defied convention to marry the tallest man at court in her own secret love match.
The fascinating story of three idiosyncratic Tudor girls and their challenges to the most powerful Tudor woman of all is the subject of the next novel from the author who defines what it means to be a writer of historical fiction.
My Thoughts
Normally I like Philippa Gregory and look forward to her latest release and was really pleased to be approved on NetGalley for The Last Tudor however my delight was short lived – so here is a rare event for me A NON POSTIVE review.

I found it to be quite dull and it did not hold my interest, mainly because there was no warmth or depth to the fascinating people she was writing about imo.

I particularly did like not the use of a word that I thought would not have been in general usage at the time, and found myself googling frantically to check – this was the highlight of the book for me.

The word that really got my goat? Stuff and used in the following sentence ” All you know is stuff in books” Really??? Not according to Google.
To know (one’s) stuff “have a grasp on a subject” is recorded from 1927 
Maybe I am wrong about the usage and I owe PG an apology given that she is a best selling author and I am very obviously not.
So with a heavy heart I have searched my files and dug out the 2 sheep rating,
2 sheep rating
Leave a Reply

